St Mary Church - Kersey


As one of the quaint locations used for the filming of Lovejoy, the church of St Mary sits on top of a hill overlooking the village of Kersey itself and affording visitor's a breath taking view across the Brett Valley.  The oldest parts of the church date back to the 12th century and is fashioned of flint and stone, but the construction of the tower halted during the outbreak of the black death and was finally completed in 1481, its grandeur in keeping with that of any reputable Suffolk wool church.  The later additions of the north and south porches were also completed at this time.     

        

Noteable External Features     

Although not on the same scale as some of the grander wool churches of Suffolk, examples of flint flushwork and chequerwork, castllated parapets, buttresses and crocketted pinnacles are among the external features of St Mary church, often referred to as the little sister of the grander St Peter and St Paul church at nearby Lavenham.      


Internal Gems Awaiting Your Discovery ...     

The most noteable artefact from the Medieval period is a small section of the rood screen, rescued from a local farm and restored. On one of its panels, an image of Edmund the Martyr holding an arrow, reputed by some to be Suffolk's best image of the martyr.

Also within the church is a two manual pipe organ made by Bishop & Son of Ipswich and London and which also appears in the National Pipe Organ  Register. 

The grand tower is home to eight bells, ranging in date from 1576 to 1985.     

Location:  St Mary Church, Kersey


   Elm Farm

   Kersey

   IP7 6EY              Telephone:  01787 210366