Notable External Features
The unbutressed church tower remained in its original state until it sustained damage, rendering it unsafe, during the Great Essex Earthquake in 1884. Following its full restoration in 1963 it is now home to the belfry, which is beautifully lit by lancet windows under ogee arches and the six bells can still be heard today ringing the changes throughout the village. Other interesting external features are the stone-capped octagonal brick and flint faced rood-stair turret of the south isle and the 15th century north porch in which two sets of Royal Arms are located.
Internal Gems Awaiting Your Discovery...
Nayland was once the home of John Constable's Aunt, who in 1809 commissioned him to paint a portrait of Christ, titled "Christ Blessing the Bread and Wine of the Last Supper" which still today can be viewed hanging behind the alter. Other gems are the stained glass of the west window located behind the font, the painted panels from the old rood screen located in the south isle and the church organ which was built by George III organ maker, Samuel Green of London and is housed in the St Francis Chapel.
Sorry, there currently are no wool church - nayland in Wool Churches of Suffolk.